Unattended Dispatch Mode

Unattended dispatch mode allows your crews to run pre-assigned calls throughout the night and on weekends, without ever interacting with a dispatcher.

AngelTrack does not normally allow crews to close their own dispatches, or set or change their destinations, because it is normally important for the dispatch office to be directly told of these events.


Uses and Benefits

Unattended dispatch mode does two things: it allows crew members to set (or change) their destination by choosing from AngelTrack's list of hospital ER facilities, and it allows crews to close their own calls once they are back in service... rather than calling their dispatcher for these events.

It is intended for use during nights and weekends when there is no dispatcher in the office. Before leaving, the dispatcher pre-assigns the calls throughout the evening and through the night, or throughout the weekend. The crews will run each call when it activates, closing it (using their mobile device) after finishing transport and returning to service.

Because crews can close their own dispatches, and because they can see their upcoming pre-assigned calls on their Crew Home page, they have no need to contact a dispatcher. Of course if something went wrong they would simply call a supervisor.


Activating and Deactivating

To use this feature, it must first be allowed by the AngelTrack administrator, who must visit the Preferences page under Settings and tick the ☑ Unattended Dispatch Allowed checkbox, then save.

Once the mode is allowed, all dispatchers will see this checkbox at the top-right corner of the dispatch board:

Unattended mode switch

The checkbox can be clicked by any dispatcher, captain, or administrator. Once clicked, it functions systemwide; therefore if one dispatcher clicks the checkbox, all other dispatchers will see it change on their own dispatch boards.

When unattended dispatch mode is active, the checkbox turns red, to remind the morning dispatcher to deactivate it again.


"Best Effort" Situations

The crew does not have the ability to cancel their call, or close it early as "best effort". Calls closed by crews are always marked "as ordered".

However, if the crew then fills out the followup and gives a patient disposition indicating that transport was not provided, the PCR will present them with the Resolve This Conflict screen:

Resolve This Conflict

Based on their response to that screen, their call will be marked "best effort" as appropriate. To learn more about "best effort" and call completion, read the Call Completion Guide.


Unattended Mode All The Time

If you decide that your operation can run smoothly with crews setting and changing their destinations, and without calling dispatch when they're back in service, and if you are sure you will not have problems with crews closing their own calls prematurely, then you can use unattended dispatch mode all the time.

The AngelTrack software does not mind either way. It has no effect on the PCR, or QA review, or the billing workflow. So if it works better for you than the traditional way (crews phone home after each dispatch), then by all means use it.


Allowing Night Crews to Take Calls and Self Dispatch

If you wish to allow your night crew(s) to answer the dispatch phone, book calls, and dispatch themselves, you can do so.

The crew members who are trusted to answer the phone and book the calls in AngelTrack must be members of the Call-taker role, which you can set by visiting the "Roles" tab of their Employee Edit page.

And obviously they must also be trained in how to book a dispatch in AngelTrack... with special attention paid to the importance of finding and attaching the relevant facility and patient records, so as not to create duplicates.

Once that's done, the crew members will have access to a few of the dispatch areas of AngelTrack, from whence they can access the Dispatch Create page by clicking the + icon. At the bottom of that page, AngelTrack will then offer them a checkbox:

Crew Self-Assignment

That checkbox will only be available if they are on a shift that is qualified to take the call, according to the normal rules. If they are not, then they can save the new dispatch but will not be able to assign it to themselves.

The crew members will always be able to close out dispatches which they have assigned to themselves, even if Unattended Mode is not enabled.


Crews Can Set or Change Their Destinations

Crews can visit the Hospital ER List page to set or change the destination of their currently active dispatch, but only under the following circumstances:

The Hospital ER List page is linked from the bottom of the Crew Run Call page, and crews can keep it open in a separate browser tab. The ER list shows all of AngelTrack's facility records that are marked as type "Hospital - Emergency room". If a facility record has GPS coordinates on-file, then a "Set as Destination" button will appear with it, which the crew can click.



Help Index - Training Portal - AngelTrack Support