How AngelTrack can allow crew members, with certain permissions at certain times, to dispatch themselves
Unattended dispatch mode allows your crews to run pre-assigned calls throughout the night and on weekends, without ever interacting with a dispatcher.
AngelTrack does not normally allow crews to close their own dispatches, or set or change their destinations, as these events would normally merit a call to the dispatch office. Unattended mode removes this restriction.
Uses and Benefits
Unattended dispatch mode does three things:
- It allows crew members to set (or change) their destination by choosing from AngelTrack's list of hospital ER facilities;
- It allows crews to close their own calls once they are back in service... rather than calling their dispatcher for these events; and
- It automatically closes any shift record that is two hours beyond its appointed end-time, as long as the shift has no more active calls assigned.
Unattended mode is for use during nights and weekends when there is no dispatcher in the office. Before leaving for the night, the dispatcher pre-assigns the calls throughout the evening and through the night, or throughout the weekend. The crews will run each call when it activates, closing it (using their mobile device) after finishing transport and returning to service.
Because crews can close their own dispatches, and because they can see their upcoming pre-assigned calls on their Crew Home page, they have no need to contact a dispatcher. Of course if something went wrong they would simply call a supervisor.
Activating and Deactivating
To use this feature, it must first be allowed by the AngelTrack administrator, who must visit the Preferences page under Settings and tick the ☑ Unattended Dispatch Allowed checkbox, then save.
Once the mode is allowed, all dispatchers will see this checkbox at the top-right corner of the dispatch board:
The checkbox can be clicked by any dispatcher, captain, or administrator. Once clicked, it functions systemwide; therefore if one dispatcher clicks the checkbox, all other dispatchers will see it change on their own dispatch boards.
When unattended dispatch mode is active, the checkbox turns red, to remind the dispatchers to deactivate it.
"Best Effort" Situations
The crew does not have the ability to cancel their call, or close it early as "best effort". Instead, calls closed by crews are always marked "as ordered".
However, if the crew then fills out the follow-up and gives a patient disposition indicating that transport was not provided, the PCR will present them with the Resolve This Conflict screen:
Based on their response to that screen, their call will be marked "best effort" as appropriate. To learn more about "best effort" and call completion, read the Call Completion Guide.
Unattended Mode All the Time
If you decide that your operation can run smoothly with crews setting and changing their destinations, and without calling dispatch when they're back in service, then feel free to use unattended dispatch mode all the time. The decision is up to you. AngelTrack does not mind either way. Leaving Unattended Mode enabled has no effect on the PCR, or QA review, or the billing workflow.
Allowing Night Crews to Take Calls and Self Dispatch
If you wish to allow your night crew(s) to answer the dispatch phone, book calls, and dispatch themselves, you can do so.
The crew members who answer the phone and book calls in AngelTrack must be members of the Call-taker role, which you can set by visiting the "Roles" tab of their Employee Edit page.
They must be trained in how to book a dispatch in AngelTrack... with special attention paid to the importance of finding and attaching the relevant facility and patient records, so as not to create duplicates.
Once that's done, the crew members will have access to a few of the dispatch areas of AngelTrack, from whence they can access the Dispatch Create page by clicking the icon. At the bottom of that page, AngelTrack will then offer them a checkbox:
That checkbox will only be available if they are on a shift that is qualified to take the call, according to the normal rules. If they are not, then they can save the new dispatch but will not be able to assign it to themselves.
The crew members will always be able to close out dispatches which they have assigned to themselves, even if Unattended Mode is not enabled.
Crews Can Set or Change Their Destinations
Crews can visit the Hospital ER List page to set or change the destination of their currently active dispatch, but only under the following circumstances:
- Unattended mode is enabled; or
- The crew member is an Administrator; or
- The crew member is a Dispatcher; or
- The crew member is a Call-taker.
The Hospital ER List page is linked from the bottom of the Crew Run Call page, and crews can keep it open in a separate browser tab. The ER list shows all of AngelTrack's facility records that are marked as type "Hospital - Emergency room". If a facility record has GPS coordinates on-file, then a "Set as Destination" button will appear with it, which the crew can click.